What we do

In this section you can find out more about who we are and what we do.

The mission of the Bridport Prize is to encourage emerging writers and promote literary excellence through its competition structure.

The Bridport Prize is an international competition looking to find the best new writing from across the globe each year. The competition has four categories:

Short Stories
Flash Fiction

We aim to:

  • Launch and promote new writing
  • Provide opportunities for all writers through open submission
  • Explore and develop new opportunities for writers
  • Give access to new writing through the anthology
  • Support the aims of and raise funds for Bridport Arts Centre 

We think great writing deserves great prizes so we offer our winners the following:

For poetry and short stories

1st £5,000 | 2nd £1,000 | 3rd £500

& Highly Commended 10 x £100

For Flash Fiction

1st £1,000 | 2nd £500 | 3rd £250

& Highly Commended 3 x £100

For the Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a First Novel

1st £1,000 plus up to a year's mentoring from The Literary Consultancy through their Chapter & Verse mentoring scheme (worth £2,340) and a critique from the judge.

Runner-up £500 plus a full manuscript appraisal and a place on an Industry Day from The Literary Consultancy.

Shortlisted writers 3 x £100 plus a 50-page manuscript appraisal (redeemable against a full read if desired) plus a place on an Industry Day.


In addition we publish an annual anthology of the winning and highly commended poems, short stories and flash fiction stories. The opening chapters of the winning and runner-up novel are published on our website.

A prize-giving ceremony for all the winning writers and their guests is held at Bridport Arts Centre in Dorset. The 2019 event will be held on Saturday 19 October.

Each category has its own page (Poetry / Short Stories / Flash Fiction / Novels) where you can download the rules and entry instructions to read before you submit. You can also read there about this year's judges.

Our closing date is 31 May each year.

Winners and shortlisted writers are contacted by email in September.

'Before I entered the Bridport Peggy-Chapman First Novel Award, I had written two novels that went nowhere. ‘Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line’ is my third novel, and I submitted my then-unfinished manuscript to the prize with low expectations. I told myself that if it got as far as the longlist, I would take it as a sign to continue writing. What an unexpected and wonderful surprise it was then to learn, months afterwards, that my novel had won the award. Meeting the judges, the prize organisers and fellow writers at the awards ceremony was a lovely and affirming experience, and one that motivated me to keep writing.’


Deepa Anappara (UK) winner, the Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a First Novel, 2017

What now?

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates